Investigators and Partners

Below is a list of the fish disease investigative group which includes Oregon State University Members and Affiliate Members from the greater northwest region of the United States.

Oregon State University Members

Jerri Bartholomew, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Director of J.L. Fryer Salmon Disease Laboratory, Department of Microbiology
e-mail:Jerri.Bartholomew at

Michael L. Kent, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Microbiology
e-mail:Michael.Kent at

Christopher Bayne, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus, Department of Zoology
e-mail:baynec at

Sascha Hallett, Ph.D.
Research Associate, Department of Microbiology
e-mail:halletts at

Jerry R. Heidel, D.V.M.,Ph.D.
Diplomate ACVP, AFS Fish Pathologist,
Director, Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory, College of Veterinary Medicine
e-mail:jerry.heidel at

Richard Holt, Ph.D.
Retired Fish Pathologist, Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife,
Assistant Professor - courtesy appointment/Senior Researcher Department of Microbiology
e-mail:holtr at

Robert E. Olson. Ph.D.
Emeritus Professor, OSU Hatfield Marine Science Center
e-mail:robert.olson at

Carl B. Schreck, Ph.D.
Professor and Leader, Department of Fisheries and Wildlife
e-mail:Carl.Schreck at

Jan Spitsbergen, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Research Assistant Professor, Department of Environmental and Molecular Toxicology; Marine and Freshwater Biomedical Sciences Center
e-mail:spitsbej at


Affiliate Members (non-OSU faculty)

Thomas Chen
Molecular & Cell Biology, University of Connecticut
e-mail:Thomas.chen at

Craig Banner
Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife
e-mail:bannerc at

H. Mark Engelking, Ph.D.
e-mail:engelkih at

Kym C. Jacobson, Ph.D.
Zoologist, Estuarine and Ocean Ecology Program, Fish Ecology Division, Northwest Fishery Science Center, National Marine Fisheries Service; NOAA/NMFS/NWFSC, Hatfield Marine Science Center
e-mail:Kym.Jacobson at